Thankfulness

Meister Eckhart said, “If the only prayer you ever say in your life is thank you, it will be enough.”

Think of what this presupposes. This assumes that someone has received something, that a gift or a goodness or a blessing has been recognized and appreciated. Recognized, appreciated and accepted. In Christian theological terms, this implies grace being given and received.

The theologian Paul Tillich spoke of “accepting our acceptance.” The fantasy writer Stephen R. Donaldson said that “accepting a gift honors the giver.”

To offer a prayer that is as simple as a heartfelt “Thank you” embraces all of these facets. It is at the center of Grace-full living: to recognize and accept grace in whatever form, and to be grateful.

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 Comments

  1. Wesley said,

    February 7, 2014 at 11:59 am

    I really like this. It seems simple, but sometimes the simple things are the most profound.
    You have a Wesleyan background, don’t you? It shows through in your post (or maybe I’m just reading it into it).

  2. February 7, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    Wesley, yes, I was influenced by Wesleyanism, having been a United Methodist. Though I didn’t mention it, I suppose the notion of prevenient grace does come through, doesn’t it? I suppose I could also have mentioned, had I gotten more involved, that Native American cultures seem to have a very powerful sense of the giftedness of life, which has always seemed to me an acceptance of grace.

  3. Wesley said,

    February 7, 2014 at 3:41 pm

    It does indeed.
    It appears that sense of gratitude cuts across cultures. Strange that it sometimes seems so lacking in day to day life.


Leave a comment